Council Packets
Online Payments
and Services
Assessing & Building Permit Information
Special Assessment
& Property Tax Information
Current Consumer Confidence Report from Water Dept.
Bids & Proposals
News Releases
Economic Development
Employment
Forms & Permits
City Directory
City Charter & Ordinance
Zoning Ordinance
Election Information
Government Links
Area Maps
Tax Information
Tree Planting Partnership Program

Complaint
Numbers
2012 4,605
2011 4,824
2010 4,211
2009 4,093
2008 4,108
2007 4,091
2006 4,648
2005 4,593
2004 4,571
2003 4,394
2002 4,890


City Police Chief
   
  Overview

Police Chief
Joel Jett

Alpena Public Safety Facility
501 W. Chisholm Street
Alpena, Michigan 49707

Phone:  (989) 354-1800
Fax:  (989) 354-1805
Email:  joelj@alpena.mi.us

The Police Department employs 15 certified officers who provide law enforcement services for the City of Alpena 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Three clerical employees support the officers.

The Police Chief administers the Police Department, and oversees the daily operations. The department is comprised of four divisions:

  • Detective Division
  • Patrol Division
  • Community Services Division
  • Staff Operations Division
In addition to traditional police services, our department offers a D.A.R.E. program to all in-city public and parochial schools, a school liaison program, a bicycle patrol, and a K-9 unit.



Department Personnel

Eric Hamp
Lieutenant
erich@alpena.mi.us
Steve Davis
Detective Sergeant
steved@alpena.mi.us
Mike Brooks
K-9 Unit/Patrol Sergeant
mikeb@alpena.mi.us
David Koch
Patrol Sergeant
davek@alpena.mi.us
Chris Johnston
Patrol Sergeant
chrisj@alpena.mi.us
Bill Gohl
Patrol Sergeant
williamg@alpena.mi.us
Tim Marquardt
High School Liaison Officer/ D.A.R.E. Officer/
Patrol Officer
timm@alpena.mi.us
Chet Spencer
Patrol Officer
chets@alpena.mi.us
Mark Bluck
Patrol Officer
markb@alpena.mi.us
Eric Carlson
Patrol Officer
ericc@alpena.mi.us
Lee Grant
Patrol Officer
leeg@alpena.mi.us
Jason Collegnon
Patrol Officer
jasonc@alpena.mi.us
Robert Lang
Patrol Officer
robertl@alpena.mi.us
Donald Leaym
Patrol Officer
donl@alpena.mi.us
Adam David
Patrol Officer
adamd@alpena.mi.us

Clerical Personnel
Tracy Marquardt
Office Clerk
tracym@alpena.mi.us
Gretchen Kruse
Clerk-Typist
gretchenk@alpena.mi.us

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is skateboarding allowed in the City?
The only area in which skateboarding is prohibited, by ordinance, is the Downtown Development Authority District south of the Thunder Bay River. Skateboarding is also not allowed on streets unless crossing at an intersection or where no sidewalks are available, in alleys or on property where the appropriate sign has been posted. A synopsis of the City Ordinance and a map of the Downtown Development Authority District are available at City Hall and the Police Department.

Is there a truck route in the City?
The City adopted a truck route ordinance that specifies which city streets trucks can and cannot use. Copies of the ordinance and truck route map are available at the Police Department or City Hall.

Is the Police Department open 24 hours a day?
Our department has officers on duty 24 hours a day. Our office is open Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. with the exception of several holidays. Anyone needing police services outside of the office hours can call 911 or stop at the Public Safety Facility and use the phone in the lobby. The phone is connected to 911. A dispatcher will speak with you, get some general information, and have an officer come to the building to speak with you.

  Click here to view City Council Meetings


Anonymous Crime Tip

Hiring
Requirements
Minimum Age of 18
City of Alpena
Employment
Application
Valid MI Driver's
License and Excellent Driving Record
Associates Degree in Criminal Justice or
related field
M.C.O.L.E.S. Certified
or Certifiable

Officer Tim &
Daren the Lion


Honor Guard
Eric Carlson, Patrol Officer and David Koch, Patrol Sergeant


 
Home | About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Copyrighted © 2012 All Rights Reserved